Gregor McCord

Gregor6

There is nothing more refreshing than coming across a fellow stylist who gets it…

One who gets it in a literal and figurative sense.

So, what is ‘it’? I’d say it includes learning and knowing the industry… Understanding what it takes to enter the industry and to actually stay relevant as a fashion or wardrobe stylist.

Running into creative minds is one thing, but being able to relate with the work of another stylist is a rare, yet fulfilling feeling.

Gregor5

I get that feeling when I see or speak to Gregor McCord, a fellow stylist in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Being one that I admire, Gregor McCord stands out to me as a fashion stylist due to the quality of his work and the undying motivation to produce quality within his work.

Interviewing Gregor was a task that I thought would be difficult. He’s a busy stylist and student, currently studying at the London College of Fashion for the semester. Although his schedule is hectic, he still managed to make time to speak with me. I definitely appreciate that.

Gregor

Who are you? What is your creative title?

My name is Gregor McCord and I am 23 years old. I’m a free-lance stylist and personal shopper, currently studying at the London College of Fashion for a semester.

What is the title of your brand? What creative abilities do you possess?

My brand name is Gregorium. My other creative abilities include production (fashion show, music video, other related press events), styling (events, editorial, look books, print, and e-commerce), and I have been recently dabbling in photography

How long have you been working in the creative field?

I am very new to the creative field and have been working in the fashion industry for only 3-4 years now.

What inspires you the most about the fashion industry?

The fashion industry can effect so many changes in our society and in the same token, our society, politics and culture effect what we wear. Everyone is participating in fashion consciously or subconsciously and that’s brilliant to me.

How did you get involved in the fashion industry? What keeps you involved?

You have to continuously network and put yourself out there where opportunity can be found. As a freshmen in college, I shadowed people like Nia & Obye. This led to me volunteering backstage at the UC Spring Fashion Show, as well as for the OTR look-book photo shoot. Doing those “small things” encouraged me to continue volunteering until I eventually created my own style and brand. What keeps me involved is continuously doing my research and staying up on trends and current events. If you do not know what is going on in the world we live in then you’ll hardly be able to understand what is going on in fashion. Also, word of mouth goes a long way, I love spreading the word about astute professionals who can work well.

Where do you hope to be in 5 years?

In 5 years, I hope to be working as stylist assistant in Paris or New York as well as free-lancing for editorials. I also plan on starting a collective of young, socially conscious creatives, in order to enable diversity in the fashion industry.

How would you describe your personal style?

I would say I am a more trendy version of health goth, mixed with an urban edge, and a fitted finish.

What influences or inspires you within your creative area?

I am inspired by artwork, photography, social movements, human rights, street fashion, music, and nature.

Who are some of your favorite fashion icons? Why?

Grace Jones, June Ambrose, and Naomi Campbell are my favorite female fashion icons because they have paved the way for so many women of color to exist and create beautiful things in the fashion industry. Although they are not traditionally known in a fashion context, I love Boy George, Prince, and the Beatles because I believe they made it cool to have unique style and to be a male.

Gregor inspires me frequently. I hope he does the same for you! Connect with him and check out some of his amazing styling work below!

@Gregorium_Emporium —> Instagram
Gregor McCord —> FB
gregor.mccord@gmail.com
mycatharticblog.weebly.com

10622845_10153288400469465_7487086710688182973_n 10155927_10153288400169465_4197522855743892654_n 1512449_10153411007419465_2499456141894584731_n 10402949_10153413886739465_305867992606446566_n

Gregor McCord

Leave a Reply

