Le’ Vu

image

Young, innovative, fresh…

These are the words that come to my head when I think of a fellow stylist and bright creative, Gabrielle Vu.

Meeting her a year ago, we clicked instantly because of our similar interests in fashion, styling, creative direction, and dream chasing.

I met Gabby while we both worked for a local retailer, and we began exchanging ideas and sharing more with each other regarding our dreams and goals.

I knew that she’d be successful in becoming a fashion connoisseur due to her ability to allow her imagination to run wild. After doing this, she always seemed to find a way to bring those thoughts and ideas to life, which is something I’ve always admired about her.

She also had a keen sense of personal style from the jump, which made it easy for people to grow attracted to her, in a fashion sense.

image

She’s currently working to build a strong portfolio as a stylist, and I’d say that she’s well on her way to something brilliant.

Who are you? What is your creative title?

I am Gabrielle Vu, and I am from Cincinnati, Ohio. I’m a style maven and fashion connoisseur.

How long have you been working in the creative industry?

It’s a little ambiguous, but about two years. In 2009, my sophomore year of high school, I did costume design and theatre hair and makeup. I didn’t think about pursuing fashion until my senior year. I applied to thirteen colleges as a Biology major with a pre-medicine focus, but something snapped in me. In ten years, I wouldn’t be happy being a doctor. As a last minute decision, I decided to change my major to Fashion Design, and the rest is history.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I plan to be in LA! I am so sick of Ohio’s temperamental weather.  One day it’s 75 degrees, and the next day it’s snowing.  I might be working on an MBA, and hopefully assisting designers and buyers.  Anything that can get me closer to my goals of making it into the fashion field.

What inspires you?

Everything. I see art in everything. Elements from art, design, the commercial industry, as well as cult trends from teenage vagabonds across the United States drive me to push forward. Whether it’s Kim Kardashian’s ass on the cover of Paper Magazine or random textures I see day to day, I stay inspired.

How would you describe your personal style?

I feel like a chameleon in the fact that I change my tastes by the day. Some days I feel like rocking a minimalistic look, while the next, I might see an outfit from Ann-Marie Hoang and want to mix layers, textures, and patterns.

What are you currently working on?

Currently, I am working at Amazon.com as a product stylist but will be returning to school to finish my bachelors in Marketing and Design. I have been researching companies to intern anywhere.  I just want to be on my toes looking for the next opportunities.

Who is your favorite style icon?

Both Ann-Marie Hoang and Vanessa Hong keep me inspired. They portray confidence in every look they put together.  Ann-Marie Hoang has a grungy-chic, street-fashion look, while Vanessa on the other hand, is sporty and utilitarian.

What do you think sets you apart from other creatives in your same field?

I don’t limit myself to preconceived notions of what a stylist should be. It’s my passion, and I am ambitious. I make sure to explore all aspects of the vast field; it feeds into my diversity.

What has been your greatest accomplishment while working in the creative field?

All the connections I have made. I am drawn to talented people, and I love them all.  Some have even become some of my closest friends which ensure that I never stop creating new things.

I’d say that Gabby is a creative that you should get to know in 2015. Check her work out and follow her journey as well!

Email: gabriellemvu@gmail.com Instagram: @vugabrielle

image

Le’ Vu

Leave a Reply

