Styling for Joshua Eskridge: Behind the Scenes

I recently collaborated with Louisville photographer, Joshua Eskridge on Sunday. Taking my styling more seriously, I’ve began rebuilding my portfolio to make it the best reflection of my styling abilities. Working with Josh was monumental for me because I was able to work with a photographer on his level. After meeting Josh, I realized that he was one who took heed to perfecting his craft as a photographer. He paid attention to detail, and really worked with the team to create a quality shoot that all of us could appreciate.IMG_0776

Our model was Shannon Markesbery, signed with Heyman Talent. We’ve worked together once, but never on this level. Shannon is a model with a lot of quality experience, a high level of training, and she’s in love with the camera. Watch out for her.

IMG_0771 IMG_0788 IMG_0769

Our makeup artist was Tequana Colvin of Flawless Face Makeup Artistry. Working with Tequana over the past few months has been unreal. Her precision, professionalism, and expertise regarding beauty has truly brought a new element into focus for me. I enjoy working with her due to the fact that she is embedded in her craft, and due to the fact that she has a distinct vision regarding where she wants to be in the future.

IMG_0781 IMG_0804

 Our hair stylist was Dayll Griffith, whom I have known and worked with for years. As we’ve both broken into the industry in our own ways, Dayll and I have watched each other grow as professionals. Working with her today shows me our level of hunger to remain relevant in the industry, and to help each other get to where we’d like to be.

IMG_0794 IMG_0800 IMG_0808 IMG_0812 IMG_0815 IMG_0822 IMG_0825 IMG_0830 IMG_0832 IMG_0838 IMG_0849 IMG_0854 IMG_0870 IMG_0875 IMG_0899

Assisting me for the day was a fellow stylist, Princess Wilcoxson- a stylist who I truly admire. It’s rare to find people within the same profession who can understand you, work with you, respect you and help you. When I met Princess a few months ago, we instantly clicked. She is an amazing blogger as well as a stylist, and our paths crossed at the perfect time. Working with her on this shoot was a huge step for me, because I allowed another stylist into my creative space. Being something that I have always been leery of doing, Princess was amazing to work with. She brought new ideas to the table, noticed fine details, and helped the team to produce quality work.

IMG_0936 IMG_0934

Looking at pictures of myself, the most that I can say is that I have grown as a stylist within the last year, I am pushing personal boundaries, creating unique concepts, pulling from various designers, and trying new styling techniques. I know that my hard work will pay off.

IMG_0945All photos taken by Sydney Murdock.

Styling for Joshua Eskridge: Behind the Scenes

Leave a Reply

