Slippin’ Away.

image

Creating a business out of my love for fashion has been the most challenging and rewarding task that I’ve ever been presented with.

While working on producing and styling this fashion show, I’ve realized this more than ever.

Being the point of contact for this event, I have about 20 thousand emotions that I go through daily.

I’m illuminated, depressed, frustrated and nervous.

Because I’ve never been challenged in this way before.

image

As I’ve began tapping into a ton of fashion management skills, I’ve have learned to never compromise my actual vision to make others comfortable.

I’ve been diving into less of what style and fashion look like…

I have been questioning how they make me feel…

What statements I hope to make…

Venturing into the aesthetic…

The presentation.

image

The reason I decided to produce a fashion exhibit or showcase was to provide a realm where Ohio artists could begin flexing their skills.

Too many times I’ve heard, “You need to be in New York or Los Angeles…”

“Cincinnati isn’t a fashion city…”

“You can’t actually believe that you’ll be a relevant stylist in Cincinnati…”

My answer is… “But, why?”

Why do we need to navigate and venture out of our growing city or state to fulfill our destinies?

Yes, I’m a die-hard New York fan- but Cincinnati raised me.

Who will stay to pave the way for the artists and creative dreamers who are interested in fashion or the arts?

So, hopefully the show will get a conversation started.

Because, there IS talent in Ohio.

We just don’t always know when and how to utilize it.

image

Pulling looks for the show has also helped me to revolve my own personal style.

It’s taking on a life of itself.

Speaking of what I’m wearing…

Slips are in.

Get into it.

image

A year ago, I would’ve never felt comfortable enough with myself to rock this look in public.

But, as of lately- I’ve been digging more of what I think and less of the thoughts of others.

I’m getting into this whole women’s empowerment thing.

If I want to be a sex-kitten, I CAN.

If I want to dress like a man, I CAN.

image

I’ve been following trend forecasts like crazy and silk, slip dresses, and the use of nightwear as the modern day get-up is a consistent trend.

I’m definitely here for women wearing their lingerie or sleepwear outdoors…

Why?

Well, this summer is going to be a hot one.

Free flowing pants, oversized tops, short and lightweight slips will be cool and chic.

Also, it’s breaking the rules- which I love.

This 90s trend is making a comeback, but I think the fact that it has made it’s way back around is about more than just looks.

When the trend broke into the fashion industry, how did it make women feel?

Fearless, resilient, sexy, independent…

That’s what’s important.

image

We get so caught up in the boxes that society puts us in…

And, so damn conservative…

Can we live? And, let go?

image

I paired my slip dress with a silk overcoat and knee-high boots.

Delicate jewelry pieces are a given, with a chunky wrist.

I added an attitude mixed with Carrie Bradshaw, Naomi Campbell, and Madonna…

And, this is what I got.

Oh yeah.

If you’re screaming, #SUPPORTLOCALARTISTS, #SUPPORTOHIOFASHION, #SUPPORTOHIOARTISTS….

Then, why haven’t you gotten your ticket to NOT ANOTHER FASHION SHOW?

Go.

Slippin’ Away.

Leave a Reply

